Many of you who have known me for a few years know I’m a pretty big fan of this whole writing business. However, I can’t recall a single time when I’ve really gone into detail why, during the past few years, I’ve genuinely come to feel like writing is my calling. There were certainly signs that I had an active imagination, such as always being that little kid you could almost always find staring into space (I’m fairly certain this is why I don’t remember half of elementary school), and pretty much being absorbed in books at a young age. To add on to these, my growth as a person and writer during the last few years (particularly since I’ve been in college), has led me to hone not only my writing style and skills, but also my perspective and drive behind being a writer.

That’s what I want to focus on with this post: helping you as a reader get better acquainted with me as a writer. How am I going to get you acquainted? I’ll tell you why I feel called, and what I feel called to do as someone who writes.

First, I want to talk about why I feel called as a writer.

Jeremiah 20:9 puts to words what *I think* a calling feels like: “But if I say, ‘I will not mention His word or speak anymore in His name, His word is in my heart like a fire, a fire shut up in my bones. I am weary of holding it in; indeed, I cannot.'” (NIV)

If I go more than a couple days without writing, be it related to Words of Providence or another subject entirely, my mind becomes restless, like something needs to get out or I’ll go absolutely crazy. As long as I can remember, I’ve been creating imaginary scenes in my mind and, since I started actually putting to paper those thoughts, tinkering with ideas to craft them into stories. “I am weary of holding it in; indeed, I cannot,” is literally how I feel about the words I have stored in my brain that are begging to be written.

To add on to this, it’s my philosophy that a calling also ought to be an act of worship, regardless of what it is. I want to put it simply: I feel closest to God when I write. I don’t think it’s a stretch to say that the mind that commanded the universe into existence also stirs my mind’s creativity and allows me to put into words what I envision in that swirl of imagination. He’s gifted me with the ability to imagine vast worlds and the skills necessary to share those worlds with others. I feel it’s my calling to glorify Him for giving me these gifts by developing them and making them stronger every day, lest my mind should fill to bursting.

Secondly, I want to talk about what I will do with my calling as a writer.

Here is the portion where I talk about my philosophy as a writer, specifically as a teller of stories. I’ll rely on the classic quote from Anton Chekov to introduce this point: “Remove everything that has no relevance to the story. If you say in the first chapter that there is a rifle hanging on the wall, in the second or third chapter it absolutely must go off. If it’s not going to be fired, it shouldn’t be hanging there.”

I think great promise lies in the details of a storyteller’s work, and I don’t think those promises should go to waste. Connectedness in story is something I find truly beautiful. I’m a sucker for symmetry, and I take having the attention to detail required to attain such connectedness as a personal challenge. In short: Writing and telling stories give promises that I as a writer feel compelled (and thrilled) to fulfill to ever-deserving readers. 

What’s my first promise to you? I will continue giving my all to this craft God’s entrusted to me in the hope that doing so will glorify Him and find your enjoyment, respect, and (I daresay) entertainment. Thank you for taking this journey with me, and I look forward to being able to share my words with you in the future.

*Stay tuned for a Q&A post tomorrow. I got so many questions that I didn’t feel like I could do them justice by fitting their answers in with this post.

